Workshop "Deflationism in Metaphysics"

Organized by Dr. Delia Belleri (University of Vienna), Dr. Richard Woodward (University of Hamburg) and Professor Martin Kusch (University of Vienna) and jointly sponsored by Hamburg's Emmi Noether Project "Ontology after Quine" and by Vienna's ERC project "The Emergence of Relativism".

On 15th and 16th of December 2017
Room 3D, NIG (Universitätsstraße 7)

This workshop aims to bring together philosophers who have advocated deflationist positions, but also who have engaged critically with them; who have defended deflationism from critcisms, refined and bolstered the main tenets of the position; but also who have pointed at its weaknesses and at some not-so-deflationary implications of it.

⇒ Further informations on the workshops homepage



Call for Contributions: "Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir's osmotic philosophical-literary relationship"

A book publication is planned about the personal and professional, or the literary and philosophical relationship between Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone...


Call for Application "Univie Summer School – Scientific World Conceptions"

The topic of the two-week course is „ Thought Experiments “ The main lecturers are Elke Brendel (University of Bonn), James Robert Brown (University...


Univ.-Prof. Max Kölbel, MA MPhil PhD

New professorship at the Department of Philosophy for Analytical Philosophy with special emphasis on Philosophy of Language.


Call for Papers, Posters, Workshops and Artworks

for the International Research Conference Robophilosophy 2018/TRANSOR 2018 which is taking place from February 14-17, 2018


11.01.2018 16:45

Talk "Bridging the Normative Gap: Korsgaard and the Publicity of Reasons"

Given by PhD Meica Magnani (Stanford University, USA) and organized by Herlinde Pauer-Studer within the ERC-project "The Normative and...

15.01.2018 16:00

Talk "Reason"

Given by Prof. Dr. John Broome (University of Oxford, UK) and organized by Herlinde Pauer-Studer within the ERC-project "The Normative...