Department of Philosophy

The Department is large (by international comparison) and its members have a considerable variety of areas of competence. This motivates both the duty to offer a teaching programme that spans the full breadth of the discipline, and the intention to satisfy high standards of research performance. The Department attaches great value to the core areas of philosophy, but it also has the aim to contribute, on their basis, to the clarification and solution of current problems. The intention to acknowledge new philosophical developments and tasks is reflected in the number of co-operations and research fields of the department.

Head of department:

Assoz. Prof. Dr. George Karamanolis, Privatdoz. MA

Deputy head of department:

Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Anja Weiberg



Mag. Markus Riedl




Department of Philosophy
A-1010 Vienna, Universitätsstraße 7
T: +43-1-4277-46 476

⇒ Link to the Department of Philosophy



New Institute Building coming from Alser Straße (Copyright: University of Vienna/Georg Herder)